Our History




Butts Foods was founded as a live chicken distributor by Ray Butts Sr. During the 60's, the company expanded into processed broiler and hen distribution for retail markets.

60's - 70's

Distribution Expands

Throughout the 60's and 70's , R.E. Butts Jr. expanded the distribution business and opened a hen processing plant in Jackson, TN.


80's - 90's

Focus & Construction

In 1978, the company moved away from all live poultry distribution and processing and concentrated on the distribution of fresh processed poultry and other proteins to retailers and restaurants in the Southeast.


Family Business

The third and fourth generations of Butts family ownership, Ray Butts III and R.E. Butts IV continued to grow the business into new markets and services, including consulting and supply chain management for a wide range of clients.



A New Chapter

Butts Foods has expanded into 5 distribution facilities in 3 states with a fleet of 70 trucks. We currently service 1,300 customers in 13 states. In May of 2020, Butts Foods began a new chapter in our history by partnering with Quirch Foods®. By joining the Quirch family of companies, we have a combined total of 11 distribution centers and a variety of new products and offerings for our customers. We will continue to offer the same family values and customer service you have known for the last 85 years. 

Key Employees of the Past

  • Ray Butts III - Retired 2020

  • Ray Butts Sr. - Deceased 1959

  • R.E. Butts Jr. - Deceased 1978

  • Margaret Hays Butts - Deceased 1992

  • Luellen Hills Butts - Deceased 1997

  • Alice Butts Bryson - Retired 2009

  • Stanford Pittman - Deceased 1989

  • G.W. Hailey - Deceased 1995

  • Florence Bledsoe - Deceased 2008, over 60 years with the company

  • Eddie Osbourne - Retired 2016

  • Ed Hare - Retired 2019

Long Time Current Employees 

  • Elroy Miller - since 1978

  • Joe Woods - since 1987

  • Dennis Hucheson - since 1989

  • Mark Thomas - since 1996

  • R.E. Butts IV - since 2000